A New Beginning

A blog should be whatever you need it to be, no matter how many times you have to start over.

New beginningI seem to change my blog as many times as I change clothes. While this one has been live for over a year, I need it to do something different for me – get me through creative inertia. I’ve just read a great book called Do the Work: Overcome Resistance and Get Out of Your Own Way┬áby Steven Pressfield. It inspired me to stop fighting myself over how to make this blog ingenious and just write about what’s keeping me from writing. Stop making it flowery and just Do The Work! So today’s the start. To boot, I’ve written about 600 words, reworking a chapter that needed to be cut drastically. Hidden, though, deep in the narrative were entrance ways to dialogue that will move the plot along and keep the story from being stalled. So I celebrate a new beginning, because I love beginnings. It’s the middle that drags me down. Wish me luck!

Author: Liz Johnson, author of Win by Defeat

I'm the other writer named Liz who lives in Frenchtown, NJ, currently working on a novel about winning with integrity that also questions the humanity of a mental health system that asks us to wait until someone we love who is suffering is either violent or a harm to themselves before intervening.

Leave a Reply

